Publication of Archival Library and Museum Materials
Publication of Archival Library and Museum Materials
Publication of Archival Library and Museum Materials
World Maps


South America Map Collection

The South American Map Collection includes all of South America, the Caribbean, and Central America. Some maps also depict austral or Antarctic territories.


South America Map Collection The Florida Center for Library Automation Show All Maps South American The South American Map Collection is an ongoing cooperative project of archives, libaries and museums in Florida and throughout the Caribbean to digitize and provide online access to maps of contemporary and historic South America, dating from 1564 through the present. The majority of maps in this collection document a colonial past (1564-1926). While many of these maps were originally published as maps independent of any other publication, some were published with atlases, books, government documents, shipping and railroad schedules, land promotions, etc. Maps in this collection include nations, island, municipal, county and parish maps as well as maps depicting the region more broadly.

These maps represent only a small part of the wealth of historical and archival treasures held by the contributing archives, libraries, and museums. Users should note the source of the maps they use and should contact the holding libraries or archives directly for more information.

The Collection is uneven in representation of specific areas as contributions to the Collection reflect the interests of the contributing institutions. Maps in the South American Map Collection include the maps of the Caribbean Basin Map Collection.

Anguilla Antigua and Barbuda Argentina
Bahamas Barbados Belize
Bermuda Islands Bolivia Brazil
British Virgin Islands Canal Zone Cayman Islands
Chile Colombia Costa Rica
Cuba Curaçao Dominica
Dominican Republic Ecuador Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas)
Grenada Guadeloupe Guatemala
Guyana Guyane Française (French Guiana) Haiti
Honduras Jamaica Marie Gallante (Guadeloupe)
Martinique Mexico Montserrat
Netherlands Antilles Nicaragua Panama
Paraguay Peru Puerto Rico
Saba (Netherlands Antilles) Saint Eustatius (Netherlands Antilles) Saint Kitts and Nevis
Saint Lucia Saint Martin (Guadeloupe) Saint Martin (Netherlands Antilles)
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Saint-Barthelemy (Guadeloupe) El Salvador
Surinam Swan Islands (Honduras) Trinidad and Tobago
Turks and Caicos Islands Uruguay Venezuela
Virgin Islands of the United States
Geographic Feature
Amazon River Andes Antilles
Caribbean Sea Central America Greater Antilles
Grenadines Lesser Antilles Rio de la Plata
South America (continent) West Indies Windward Islands
Related Sites