Publication of Archival Library and Museum Materials
Publication of Archival Library and Museum Materials
Publication of Archival Library and Museum Materials
World Maps


Asian Map Collection

The Asian Map Collection includes all of the nations of Asia, including the countires of Asia Minor and the Arabian Penninsula, as well as the Caucasus mountain countries of Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Georgia.


Asian Map Collection The Florida Center for Library Automation Show All Maps Asian The Asian Map Collection is an ongoing cooperative project of archives, libaries and museums in Florida to digitize and provide online access to maps of contemporary and historic Asia, dating from 1600 through the present. The majority of maps in this collection document the region's religions. While many of these maps were originally published as maps independent of any other publication, some were published with atlases, books, government documents, shipping and railroad schedules, land promotions, etc. Maps in this collection include island, municipal, county and parish maps as well as maps depicting the region more broadly.

These maps represent only a small part of the wealth of historical and archival treasures held by the contributing archives, libraries, and museums. Users should note the source of the maps they use and should contact the holding libraries or archives directly for more information.

The Collection is uneven in representation of specific areas as contributions to the Collection reflect the interests of the contributing institutions. Maps in the Asian Map Collection overlap with the maps of the Middle East Map Collection and the European Map Collection. Effort is on-going to broaden representation of other specific locations.

Afghanistan Armenia (Europe & Asia Minor) Azerbaijan (Europe & Asia Minor)
Bahrain (Asia Minor) Bahrain (Asia Minor) Bhutan
British Indian Ocean Territory Brunei Burma
Cambodia China, Peoples' Republic Cyprus (Europe & Asia Minor)
Georgia (Republic) (Europe & Asia Minor) Hong Kong (China : Special Administrative Region) India
Indonesia Iran (Asia Minor) Iraq (Asia Minor)
Israel (Asia Minor) Japan Jordan (Asia Minor)
Kazakhstan Korea, Democratic Republic (North) Korea, Republic (South)
Kuwait (Asia Minor) Kyrgyzstan Laos
Lebanon (Asia Minor) Macao (China : Special Administrative Region) Malaysia
Maldives Mongolia Nepal
Oman (Asia Minor) Pakistan Palestine (Asia Minor)
Papua New Guinea Philippines Qatar (Asia Minor)
Saudi Arabia (Asia Minor) Singapore Solomon Islands
Sri Lanka Syria (Asia Minor) Taiwan (China, Republic)
Tajikistan Thailand Tibet
Turkey (Asia Minor) Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates (Asia Minor)
Uzbekistan Vietnam Yemen (Asia Minor)
Geographic Feature
Amur River Arabian Peninsula (Asia Minor) Arabian Sea (Asia Minor)
Asia (continent) Bengal, Bay of Black Sea (Asia Minor)
Borneo Caspian Sea East China Sea
Gaza Strip (Asia Minor) Himalaya Mountains Indian Subcontinent
Indochina Korea (peninsula) Kunlun Mountain
Mekong River Middle East (Asia Minor) New Guinea (island)
Paracel Islands Persian Gulf Red Sea (Asia Minor)
Socotra Island (Yemen) (Asia Minor) South China Sea Spratly Islands
Suez Canal (Egypt) (Asia Minor) Thailand, Gulf of Yangtze River
Yellow River Yellow Sea West Bank (Palestine) (Asia Minor)
West River
Related Sites